How can I become a good dancer?  

 

This question, often asked by students in classes, is also one on which Massangila “Yugson” Lumengo, creator of the Hawks Method, has been pondering for many years.

Drawing on his experience as competitor, choreographer and teacher, on discussions with pioneers around the world, and on in-depth research, he developed an unprecedented dance evaluation system. Synthetizing the contributions and insights of the greatest dancers of all time, the Hawks Method is the most constructive and intelligible evaluation system ever.

 

An innovative evaluation format

 

The Hawks Method is a new evaluation system for dancers. It allows them to precisely identify their level, their strengths, and their weaknesses. It is by participating in the evaluation several times that they can truly measure their range and domains of progression.

The evaluation consists of four, themed, tests: foundations, technique, musicality and originality. Each theme is divided up into five questions, evaluated on a scale from 1 to 5. The hypothetic « perfect dancer » obtains 100% at the evaluation (5x5x4).

  • 0 : off-beat, off-topic
  • 1 : basic knowledge of the step
  • 2 : moves across space but little variations, binary musical listening
  • 3 : starts to “own” the move but takes too little risks
  • 4 : precision et conscience of movement, plays with the instruction
  • 5 : mastery of movement approaching perfection

At each test, five teachers are seated in a circle, facing outwards. Five dancers dance in turn in front of each teacher. They have one minute to answer to the question before moving on to the next teacher. The five questions, and which teachers are in charge of evaluating each of them, are known before the test starts.

Freestyle to push your limits

 

The idea of the Hawks Method is to keep the form of the freestyle and preselection during battles. Putting the participants in this situation at each exercise enables teachers to determine how well the techniques are acquired. While each exercise is an encounter with a teacher, it is also and foremost and encounter with oneself, designed to encourage to push their one’s limits.

Participants to the workshop are evaluated and mentored by dancers who are not only highly qualified teachers but are also people with years of experience as dancers, capable of excelling at the evaluation themselves. They drive success in their students through words and exercises.

The dancers benefit from personalised mentoring, get precise answers to burning questions, and are encouraged to take an active role in their own development. At the end of the evaluation, they receive a graphic representation of their strengths and weaknesses, which urges them to put more meaning and direction in their efforts.

 

An ambitious ranking system

 

The Hawks Method has its own ranking system, inspired by medals, as an incentive for dancers to yearn for “perfection”. Embarking for the Hawks Method is indeed accepting to challenge oneself, but also to rank oneself in relation to others. In addition to receiving a graphic representation of their current level, dancers are awarded a virtual “medal”, based on their overall score:

  • Rookie : 0-50%
  • Bronze : 51-65%
  • Silver : 66-80%
  • Or : 81-95%
  • Platinum : 96-100%

A unique measuring tool, both precise and systematic, the Hawks Method enables to evaluate the level of dancers in a workshop, a school, a city or a country. Its objective is to push hip-hop dance towards excellence, and to be an eye-opener on work discipline, depthless of knowledge, richness of history and versatility of techniques.

Comment est-ce qu’on devient un bon danseur ? 

 

C’est une question que Massangila “Yugson” Lumengo, créateur de la Hawks Method, a entendu maintes fois sortir de la bouche de ses élèves. Il se la pose également depuis des années.

C’est en réfléchissant sur sa propre expérience de compétiteur, d’enseignant et de chorégraphe, en discutant avec des pionniers dans le monde entier, et en faisant des recherches approfondies qu’il a développé un système inédit d’évaluation du danseur. Synthétisant les apports et les approches des plus grands danseurs de l’histoire, la Hawks Method rend l’évaluation plus constructive et plus intelligible que jamais.

 

Un format inédit d’évaluation

 

La Hawks Method est un nouveau système d’évaluation du danseur. Il permet aux individus de situer précisément leur niveau, leurs forces et leurs faiblesses. Effectué plusieurs fois, il donne la possibilité de mesurer précisément les marges et les domaines de progression.

L’évaluation consiste en quatre épreuves qui correspondent chacune à une thématique: les fondations, la technique, la musicalité et la créativité. Chacune de ces thématiques est déclinée en cinq questions, évaluées sur une grille de 1 à 5. L’hypothétique “danseur parfait” obtient ainsi 100% à l’évaluation (4x5x5).

  • 0 : off-beat, hors sujet
  • 1 : connaissance basique du step
  • 2 : déplacements simples mais peu de variations, écoute musicale binaire
  • 3 : s’est approprié le mouvement mais ne prends pas assez de risques
  • 4 : précision et conscience du mouvement, s’amuse avec l’instruction
  • 5 : maîtrise du mouvement qui tend vers la perfection

Au cours de chaque épreuve, cinq professeurs sont assis en cercle, faisant face vers l’extérieur. Cinq danseurs passent à tour de rôle devant chaque professeur. Ils disposent d’une minute pour répondre à une question, avant de passer devant le professeur suivant. Les cinq questions, ainsi que les professeurs étant chargés d’évaluer chacune d’entre elles, sont connus avant le début de l’épreuve.

Le freestyle comme dépassement de soi

 

Le principe de la Hawks Method est de garder la forme du freestyle et de la présélection de battle pour effectuer l’évaluation. Etre mis en situation à chaque étape permet de voir si les composantes évaluées sont acquises. Autant qu’une rencontre avec un professeur, chaque exercice permet de se retrouver face à soi-même et de repousser ses propres limites.

Les participants sont évalués et encadrés par des professeurs qui sont non seulement qualifiés en pédagogie mais sont aussi des personnes d’expérience, choisies pour leur capacité à répondre aux questions auxquelles seront soumis les danseurs. Ils sauront faire progresser avec des mots, autant qu’avec des exercices.

Les danseurs bénéficient ainsi d’un encadrement privilégié, obtiennent des réponses précises à leurs questions, et sont encouragés à prendre un rôle actif dans leur développement. À l’issue de l’évaluation, ils repartent avec un schéma de leurs points forts et de leurs points faibles sous forme graphique, ce qui leur permet de donner plus de sens et de direction à leurs efforts.

 

Un système de classement ambitieux

 

Disposant de son propre système de classement, inspiré du système de médailles, la Hawks Method encourage les danseurs à tendre vers la “perfection”. Faire l’expérience de la Hawks Method c’est en effet accepter de se mesurer à soi, mais aussi aux autres. A l’issue de l’expérience, les danseurs repartent non seulement avec une représentation graphique de leur niveau actuel, mais aussi avec une « médaille » virtuelle, basée sur leur score global :

  • Rookie : 0-50%
  • Bronze : 51-65%
  • Argent : 66-80%
  • Or : 81-95%
  • Platinum : 96-100%

Premier outil de mesure précis et systématique, la Hawks Method permet d’évaluer le niveau des danseurs à l’échelle d’un stage, d’une école, d’une ville ou encore d’un pays. Son but est de pousser la danse hip-hop à un niveau d’excellence dans sa globalité et d’encourager ses adeptes à prendre au sérieux la rigueur de travail, la profondeur des connaissances, la richesse de l’histoire et la versatilité des techniques.